Post-Pandemic Scholarship: Some Initial Thoughts, Feb 11th at 2pm GMT

Thursday 11 February 2021, 15:00CET (2pm UK; 9am EST; 11pm JST)

Are we all digital scholars now? Social distancing has normalised digital scholarship within higher education to an unprecedented degree, as what was called a decade ago ‘the coming social media revolution in the academy’ has now come to pass due to the disruption brought about by COVID-19 and associated public health responses. However, the radically mundane nature of our reliance on digital platforms under these conditions raises questions concerning scholarship which are at risk of being overlooked due to the time, energy and resources being consumed by remote teaching.

I argue that a renewed reflexivity concerning knowledge production is essential under these conditions, orientated towards the development and maintenance of a social infrastructure for scholarship which shifts the burden of labour from individuals and collectives. I develop this argument through a reflection on the first six months of the Post-Pandemic University: an online magazine, podcast hub and event series supporting dialogue about how the university will be changed by this crisis.

Register here: https://www.digsum.org/digzoom

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

About Mark